The 100th Anniversary of the National Park Service

National Park Service (NPS) logo

National Park Service (NPS) logo

On August 25, 1916, President Woodrow Wilson signed the act which created the National Park Service (NPS). The purpose of the NPS as described in the National Park Service Organic Act “is to conserve the scenery and the natural and historic objects and the wild life therein and to provide for the enjoyment of the same in such manner and by such means as will leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.” Since 1916, the National Park Service has grown dramatically and today manages 412 different Parks, Monuments, Memorials, and other wonderful places. Nearly 300 million visitors each year Live a Memory by visiting these wonderful places!

In honor of the 100th Anniversary of the NPS, over the course of the year Live a Memory will highlight some of the awesome places that you can go to, enjoy, and make memories. If you are really lucky, some of these places are right near your back yard! You can also check out all of these awesome places at Their website does an excellent job of helping you find an NPS location that will be along the way on your next trip!

Live a Memory friends!

Now, a few fun facts.

When you visit an NPS site you will become very familiar with their logo. The logo is shaped like an arrowhead, and includes a sequoia tree, a mountainscape, and a bison. These symbols were selected in order to show the NPS role in preserving our nation’s historic and natural legacies.

Annually, NPS sites enjoy nearly 300 million visitors. Here are the top 10 most visited National Parks in 2014:

1. Great Smoky Mountains NP
2. Grand Canyon NP
3. Yosemite NP
4. Yellowstone NP
5. Rocky Mountain NP
6. Olympic NP
7. Zion NP
8. Grand Teton NP
9. Acadia NP
10. Glacier NP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *